A Chaplaincy Or Military Retirement Age

mandatory military retirement age

When a person is commissioned into the armed forces, it is important to understand and know the three-tier retirement system that applies to all military members. At the top of the pyramid is the “chief”. This person commands or directs all other forces in the military (minus the Marine Corps). At the bottom are the other junior grade leaders. All are paid a specific amount called the pay grade.

Chief Petty Officer

A man wearing a hat and glasses

The lowest paying grade after the “chief” is the next chief petty officer. He or she is also paid a lower pay grade than the next chief, and so on down the line. One of the most basic things you must know is that when a person reaches the age of sixty-five (the mandatory military retirement age), they must begin receiving their pay grade from the lowest pay grade up until they become a senior grade officer (honorary) at seventy-five. If a person doesn’t retire by the time they reach this point, they become a staff officer (the highest paying grade). This is where many people believe that they “outgrow” their careers in the Marines or Air Force, but this is not true!

Now let’s take a look at how the process works for the other grades and positions in the armed forces. The “lieutenants” or” aides” are the second highest paying grade, next to the” chiefs”. These aides are responsible for:

Third Highest Paying Grade

A man and a woman standing next to a body of water

The deputy chief of staff is the third highest paying grade in the military. The deputy chief is in charge of: operations, plans, staff, and maintenance of the entire United States armed forces. Also, he is in charge of: installations and equipping the forces. The third chief is also the acting or principal chief of the United States military. This person is in charge of: recruiting, preparing the reserves, training of the staff, and mobilization of all military forces of the United States. All these responsibilities are under his command.

The fourth highest ranking person in the military is the galebotswe (brigade) or a “peacemaker”. This person is in charge of: operations, maintenance, and finances of the entire United States forces. The brigade is also responsible for: operations against: terrorists, hostile Indians, hostile ethnic and tribal groups, and criminals. If a military member should defect, then the brigade would be in charge of finding and bringing back to service any defectors.


The fifth highest rank in the US armed forces is the “lieutenants-commander”. This person is in charge of: operations, planning, staff, and construction of the entire United States forces. A general should not be of the five-star rank, when he has not retired from two years of service as a captain or above. When he has retired, he may become a lieutenants-commander with the rank of four-star in the United States Air Force, Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and the Air Force National Guard.

Bottom Line

Retired enlisted personnel who have been assigned to the United States Air Force in the Philippines, United States Army, or the United States National Guard are entitled to take the required retirement tests. These tests include: the Armed Forces Qualification Test (AFQ) for officers, and the psychological assessment known as the MMPI-A. All active duty and reserve component personnel, including enlisted personnel and members of the Selected Reserve who have reached the required retirement age are required by law to complete a military chaplaincy or mdash. Although not all retired military personnel have to undergo a military chaplaincy or mdash, most require at least part of their military retirement payments to go towards this type of financial support. Many chaplains and dashes are retired soldiers who want to continue to serve our country by providing spiritual counsel and counseling to other chaplains or retired military personnel.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter